The 2009 NHL Awards

June 18th @ The Palms Las Vegas

Full Metal Rock on The Red Carpet: Report by ~Downshifter & Jess


The 2009 NHL Awards were here in Las Vegas today, we thought we would take you on the Red Carpet for some of the action, since Hockey and Metal go together so well. Jess and I had the opportunity to witness and document this historic event for Las Vegas. We did have a problem getting a good spot at first, that was until we got into the press only area. Before we were able to snap any photos we saw Mark Messier, Jeremy Roenick, Nichlas Lidstrom, Mike Bossy, and many others including the Lord Stanley himself.

We did manage to get images of NHL Past and Present including: Evgeni Malkin, Alexander Ovechkin, Patrick Cane, Pat LaFontaine, Actor-William Fitchner, NHL Commissioner Gary Bettman, Sergei Fedorov, and a few others.

The fan turnout was actually impressive and there were thousands on hand sporting their favorite teams jerseys.

We even got a chance to say hello to Chaka Khan.

The Red carpet event was rather short, and most of the big stars of the night were not on hand for this. The real fun would be later in the eve upstairs at the after party.

The 2009 NHL Awards honored the exceptional performances of the Leagues best and brightest stars and, for the first time ever, was broadcast live from the Pearl Concert Theater inside the Palms Hotel in Las Vegas. The 2009 NHL Awards featured the announcement of the Leagues top regular-season performers in a host of categories, including most valuable player (Hart Trophy), outstanding goaltender (Vezina Trophy), outstanding defense man (Norris Trophy), outstanding rookie (Calder Trophy) and outstanding coach (Jack Adams Award).


The Awards went to:

Hart Memorial Trophy, MVP Alexander Ovechkin, Washington Capitals.

Vezina Trophy, goaltender Tim Thomas, Boston Bruins.

James Norris Memorial Trophy, Defense man Zdeno Chara, Boston Bruins.

Calder Memorial Trophy, rookie Steve Mason, Columbus Blue Jackets.

Frank J. Selke Trophy, defensive forward Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings.

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, most gentlemanly Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings.

Jack Adams Award, coach Claude Julien, Boston Bruins.

King Clancy Trophy, humanitarian contribution to hockey Ethan Moreau, Edmonton Oilers.

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey Steve Sullivan, Nashville Predators.

Lifetime Achievement Award Jean Beliveau, Montreal Canadiens.

Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award Jarome Iginla, Calgary Flames.













Home | Interviewz | Reviewz | Live Reviewz | Contests | Friendz | Staff | Localz | Merchandise | MySpace | Twitter | Bannerz | Privacy